Liverpool leave out two senior players from Champions League squad as injury hint dropped

Jurgen Klopp has opted to leave out two senior players as Arthur Melo and Stefan Bajcetic included in Champions League squad.


Naby Keita and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain have been left out of Liverpool’s squad for the Champions League group stage.


Oxlade-Chamberlain has been sidelined since mid-July with a hamstring problem suffered during the pre-season tour in Singapore while Keita has missed the last four games with a muscle issue that has required specialist assessment.


Liverpool begin their Champions League campaign on Wednesday at Napoli, with the early finish to the group stage meaning their final game takes place at home to the Italians on November 1.

New signing Arthur Melo – brought in last week on a season-long loan from Juventus – is included, along with teenage defensive midfielder Stefan Bajcetic.


Clubs are allowed to name a maximum of 25 players in their Champions League squad with that quota required to include at least eight homegrown players. Liverpool possess only seven such homegrown players, meaning they have only been able to name a 24-man ‘A list’ squad.


Harvey Elliott has not been named as he is now eligible to join the ‘B list’ squad, where he is joined by the likes of Curtis Jones and Harvey Davies.


UEFA rules state: “A player may be registered on List B if he is born on, or after, 1 January 2001 and has been eligible to play for the club concerned for any uninterrupted period of two years since his 15th birthday by the time he is registered with UEFA – or for a total of three consecutive years with a maximum of one loan period to a club from the same association for a period not longer than one year. Players aged 16 may be submitted if they have been registered with the club for the previous two years without interruption.”



Goalkeepers: Alisson Becker, Adrian, Caoimhin Kelleher. Defenders: Joe Gomez, Virgil van Dijk, Ibrahima Konate, Kostas Tsimikas, Calvin Ramsay, Andy Robertson, Joel Matip, Nat Phillips, Trent Alexander-Arnold. Midfielders: Fabinho, Thiago Alcantara, James Milner, Jordan Henderson, Fabio Carvalho, Arthur, Stefan Bajcetic: Forwards: Roberto Firmino, Mohamed Salah, Diogo Jota, Luis Diaz, Darwin Nunez.


Selected ‘B list’ players: Harvey Davies, Curtis Jones, Harvey Elliott, Luke Chambers, Isaac Mabaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

OPINION 🗞️ 📌 Michael Owen wrong about Mohamed Salah as Liverpool truth becomes clear

2 first-team players left out of Liverpool’s UEFA Champions League squad for group stages